Generation Y: “Home”

Been at my parent’s house this week and this scene from Garden State keeps coming back to my mind. Can anyone else relate?

Andrew Largeman: You know that point in your life when you realize the house you grew up in isn’t really your home anymore? All of a sudden even though you have some place where you put your [stuff] that idea of home is gone. … You’ll see one day when you move out it just sort of happens one day and it’s gone. You feel like you can never get it back. It’s like you feel homesick for a place that doesn’t even exist. Maybe it’s like this rite of passage, you know. You won’t ever have this feeling again until you create a new idea of home for yourself, you know, for your kids, for the family you start, it’s like a cycle or something. I don’t know, but I miss the idea of it, you know. Maybe that’s all family really is. A group of people that miss the same imaginary place. 

3 thoughts on “Generation Y: “Home”

  1. It’s interesting to me to look at the titles of your last two posts in order – both talk about home, and perhaps without even intending to, you first called your Philly apt. home, before going up to your parents and running into existential crises.

    I totally relate to the Garden State quote – as you know, I just “get” that whole movie – but I add this caveat, “Home” doesn’t require a new biological or marital family, as implied by Large – “family” is a much broader term than that, and for those of us who have yet to be blessed with our own marital or biological families, we have the awesome opportunity to build “family” with a close group of the amazing people God has put into our lives.

    Glad you’re a part of my “family.”

  2. Pingback: Slow Burn - Carolyn Clare GivensCarolyn Clare Givens

Leave a comment