To My College Self

Dear College-Christine,

It’s me. Well, you. In the future. Don’t worry, even though you’re not into sci-fi at all now, you’ll get there. You’ll have a really awesome roommate who opens up the world of fiction and story telling to you in a way that you can’t even imagine right now.  You don’t know me, even though you’d like to think you do.  You think you have a pretty good idea of what the future holds, but you don’t. In order to ease your fears and help you sleep a little better, I want to write you a list of things you should know, things you’ll learn along the way. So grab a cup of green tea and a piece of dark chocolate and read on:

  • These arguments of whether tea or coffee is better that you’re having with your friends? Give it up. They’re both awesome.
  • Even though it seems like everyone is wearing contacts now, in a few years glasses will be “cool” again. Hang in there and rock the look.
  • Those late night deep talks with friends and barely-making-curfew pub runs are totally worth it.
  • Not every friend you have right now will last forever, but keep on loving well as if they are. Some of those friends will last.
  • After college, community looks very different. It doesn’t come easy, but it’s worth it.
  • Become friends with people who are different from you; it makes you life so much richer.
  • Your deep love for people is a positive thing, even though it can be very painful. Never feel shame in your tears. Ever.
  • God. Really. Does. Provide.
  • Make wise financial choices, but don’t stress so much. Your school loans will be paid off in just over four years. (God DOES provide.)
  • Life after college is stressful. But there’s no more homework. And now you get to read for fun.
  • Feeling like you don’t understand is the best place to start. Admit it. Then ask for help.
  • Ask for help. (Yes, that’s worth repeating.)
  • Take risks.
  • You don’t have to have it all together. Really.
  • You can say no. In fact, you should say no.
  • Your family is in transition now – that’s what makes it hard. Transition will become normal, your mom will become one of your most trusted confidants, and your sister will make you laugh harder than you ever have before. No matter how long between phone calls with Eric, he’ll always be your solid rock, your dad will always lovingly protect you, and Adam ends up taller than everyone.
  • Mom’s right – you’re going to like teaching.
  • Mom’s right – when it comes to dating; you’ll know when you know. (I know you still don’t believe me, so you’re going to have to trust me on this. And also … it’s worth the wait.)
  • Mom is often right.
6 thoughts on “To My College Self

  1. I LOVE this. There is really nothing more I can say other than this is so true…and I’m so thankful that we’ve reconnected! You are a treasure!

  2. This is beautiful. I really enjoyed reading it. And just in case you’re unaware- I regularly follow you on fB. I miss you and I’m so happy to see you smiling in so many of your pictures. *hugs*

    • I miss you too. Thank you. I keep up with what you post on the facebook as well, my friend. I think of you often – especially when I put change in the jar you gave me. I still do that. And I still have the folded notecard with our pact to each other about our future… do you remember that? Neither of us quite followed through.

Leave a Reply

