Something has changed.

I can’t explain it entirely, but I feel different. My clothes are still in and out of my suitcase, I still have trouble pulling myself out of bed in the mornings, my car is still making some funny sounds, but I feel at home.

It’s been almost a year since I have painted the walls in my room green and moved all of my belongings to this apartment, and now with that year under me and my license plate reading, “Pennsylvania,” I feel at home.

My soul does not ache deeply each time I throw my toiletries into my bag and run out the door (though the past two times, I’ve forgotten my toothbrush!). I know to build in a morning to take slow the day after I return from a trip (sleeping in, laundry, and tea). My roommate and I have instituted evening “story time” before we part ways for the night (my roommate is the next J.K. Rowling). There’s a rhythm. There’s a hint of structure in the chaos.

Here comes Mobilization Year Two and I’m pretty sure I’m ready for it.

2 thoughts on “Something has changed.

  1. So proud of you and the work you do for not only our Savior, but for all of us that are called outside the realm of vocational mission work!

Leave a Reply

