Blessings Before Sunrise

Nothing beats waking up on time for a flight and leisurely driving to the airport before the rest of the city wakes up. Ok, I can think of a few things that might beat getting up early, but today wasn’t so bad. The Philadelphia skyline shown brilliantly as I drove down I-95 and the top of the Comcast building was lit in a deep purple.

This time, I decided to check out a different parking lot, with an online coupon for cheaper rates. I prayed as I puklled into the lot, for safety and ease in travel. As I boarded the shuttle, there were three people all ready seated. Two, the couple sitting in the back, greeted me as I boarded and asked where I was going. “To Washington for a Christian missions conference.” They immediately started cheering. “You may not be able to tell, but we are born again too!! Praise God.” I learn of the woman’s healing ministry and I share with her of my prayer for God-appointed encounters today. She had prayed for the same thing. “Blessings abound and the sun has not even come up yet!” I declared. As we neared the airport terminals, the woman and her husband tell me that they often see the color of the Holy Spirit. Today He is a deep, majestic purple. Before I can ask what this means, they have arrived at their gate and they leave the shuttle, exchanging hugs and business cards.

When I reached Terminal 4, something different was in the air. I’m encouraged, and not rushed. I make it to security to find no line and a very delightful security officer, I make it through in just under five minutes. I get to the end of the terminal in time to get a breakfast sandwich and sit and type this post. And today, I’ll be watching for the color purple.

4 thoughts on “Blessings Before Sunrise

  1. Hey Christine, I haven’t seen you in ages! I’ve enjoyed checking out your blog and seeing what you’ve been up to. I had some very similar connections on a trip I took last summer, and I had prayed beforehand just as you did. Cool to see God answer in that way. 🙂

    I didn’t know you were back in Philly! It would be fun to see you sometime.

  2. Was the delightful security officer the 5 foot tall lady with a great big voice and a whole lot of attitude early in the morning? Positive attitude, but surprising.

    If so, I love her.

Leave a Reply

